Nick Cave & Warren Ellis surprised fans with the release of their new album ‘Carnage’.

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis surprised fans with the release of their new album 'Carnage'.

After Cave had canceled his planned UK and European tour in 2021 due to the spread of the coronavirus, he described this time as an “opportunity to take stock” and “time to set a new record”.

Then he confirmed that he and Bad Seeds bandmate and longtime collaborator Ellis were back in the studio to work on a new album called “Carnage”, describing the record as “a brutal but very beautiful record set in a communal disaster “.

Now the duo have surprisingly released the album digitally and streaming before a physical CD and vinyl release on May 28th. Listen to the album below and read NME’s five star review here.

Latest Collaboration: Wizkid (Starboy) ft Davido and Burna Boy DOWNLOAD MP3/ZIP

Cave said his inspiration came from “reading, compulsive writing, and just sitting on my balcony and thinking about things”. With no initial intention of making an album, he said, “The record just fell from the sky. It was a gift.”

The album may not be a full Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds album, but it is the latest in nearly 25 years of collaboration between the two. Ellis has been a member of Bad Seeds since 1997 and has been Caves’ songwriting partner for many years – including working as a side project, Grinderman, and many film, television, and theater scores and soundtracks.

Ellis described the recording process on ‘Carnage’ simply as “two people sitting in a room, taking risks and letting whatever happens”.

“Doing ‘Carnage’ was an accelerated process of intense creativity,” he said. “The eight songs were there in one form or another for the first two and a half days and then it was: ‘Let’s just make a record! ‘There was nothing intentional about that. “

The track listing for ‘Carnage’ is:

  1. ‘Hand of God’
  2. “Old times”
  3. ‘Slaughter’
  4. ‘White Elephant’
  5. “Albuquerque”
  6. “Lavender Fields”
  7. “Shattered Ground”
  8. “Balcony man”

When reviewing ‘CARNAGE’, NME concluded: ” Carnage ‘is arguably the best record by Cave and Ellis since reinventing The Bad Seeds” Push The Sky Away ” in 2013 or maybe even ‘Abattoir Blues’. There are certainly two masters at the height of their melodramatic powers.

“Cave told fans through The Red Hand Files that these songs came about because they missed the ‘total surrender to the moment’ that comes from the stage. They sure captured that abandonment along with everyone the heightened onslaught of panic and mania that accompanies lockdown and recent world events, and those compassionate moments of peace, serenity and hope for what is to come. Cave and Ellis take a bold leap into the dark night of the soul Made the COVID era and found a truth that we all share. “

After the acclaimed Bad Seeds 2019 album ‘Ghosteen’, Cave released the live film and album ‘Idiot Prayer’ last year, which was recorded as a solo exhibition from London’s Alexandra Palace during the lockdown.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.