Maren Morris, Chris Stapleton, and Miranda Lambert lead history-writing nominations


Getty Pictures (3)

This is a historic list of nominations from the Academy of Country Music Awards.

On Friday, Kelsea Ballerini and Brothers Osborne helped announce some of the nominees for this year’s ACM Awards CBS this morning.

At the top of the list are Maren Morris and Chris Stapleton, each with six nominations. Close behind are Miranda Lambert with five nominations and Ashley McBryde and Thomas Rhett with four nods each.

Latest Collaboration: Wizkid (Starboy) ft Davido and Burna Boy DOWNLOAD MP3/ZIP

This year four black artists are making history and are nominated for awards: Jimmie Allen, Kane Brown, Mickey Guyton and John Legend, who was nominated for the first time. Also for the first time, each song nominated for the single of the year includes a woman.

CONNECTED: The ACM Awards are returning to Nashville for the 2021 show and will again be broadcast from three iconic locations

Want to get the greatest stories from PEOPLE Every weekday? Subscribe to our new podcast, PEOPLE every day Get all the key celebrity, entertainment, and human interest news Monday through Friday.

For the most sought-after entertainer of the year, outstanding personalities such as Stapleton, Thomas Rhett, Luke Bryan, Eric Church and Luke Combs are on the program. (Carrie Underwood and Thomas Rhett shared the 2020 title.)

In particular, Morgan Wallen is missing from the nomination list, whose eligibility was discontinued earlier this month after using a racist bow.

Entertainer of the year

  • Luke Bryan

  • Eric Church

  • Luke Combs

  • Thomas Rhett

  • Chris Stapleton

Artist of the year

  • Kelsea Ballerini

  • Miranda Lambert

  • Ashley McBryde

  • Maren Morris

  • Carly Pearce

Male artist of the year

  • Dierks Bentley

  • Eric Church

  • Luke Combs

  • Thomas Rhett

  • Chris Stapleton

Duo of the year

  • Brooks & Dunn

  • Osborne brothers

  • Dan + Shay

  • Florida Georgia Line

  • Maddie & Tae

Group of the year

  • Lady A.

  • Small big city

  • Old Dominion

  • The Cadillac Three

  • The highwomen

New artist of the year

  • Ingrid Andress

  • Tenille Arts

  • Gabby Barrett

  • Mickey Guyton

  • Caylee Hammack

New Male Artist of the Year

  • Jimmie Allen

  • Travis Denning


  • Cody Johnson

  • Parker McCollum

Album of the year

  • Born here Live here Die here – Luke Bryan

  • Mixtape Vol. 1 – Kane Brown

  • Never will – Ashley McBryde

  • Skeletons – Osborne brothers

  • Start again – Chris Stapleton

Single of the year

  • “Bluebird” – – Miranda Lambert

  • “I hope” – Gabby Barrett

  • “I hope you are happy now” – Carly Pearce & Lee Brice

  • “More hearts than mine” – Ingrid Andress

  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris

Song of the year

  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert

  • “One Night Standards” – Ashley McBryde

  • “Some people do” – Old Dominion

  • “Starting from scratch” – Chris Stapleton

  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris

Video of the year

  • “Better than we found it” – Maren Morris

  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert

  • “Gone” – Dierks Bentley

  • “Hallelujah” – Carrie Underwood and John Legend

  • “Globally beautiful” – Kane Brown

Songwriter of the Year

  • Ashley Gorley

  • Michael Hardy

  • Hillary Lindsey

  • Shane McAnally

  • Josh Osborne

Music event of the year

  • “Be a Light” – Thomas Rhett with Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin and Keith Urban

  • “Does To Me” – Luke Combs with Eric Church

  • “I hope you are happy now” – Carly Pearce & Lee Brice

  • “Nobody but you” – Blake Shelton with Gwen Stefani

  • “One Beer” – HARDY with Lauren Alaina & Devin Dawson

  • “One Too Many” – Keith Urban, P! Nk

The show will air live on CBS on Sunday April 18 at 8 p.m. ET from the Grand Ole Opry, the Ryman Auditorium, and the Bluebird Cafe.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.